India Won United Nations Security Council (UNSC) Non-Permanent Seat After 19 years

India Gets Non-Permanent Membership of UNSC After 19 Years

After a gap of 19 years India was elected as a non-permanent member to the United Nations Security Council (UNSC).

India got 187 votes in its favour out of 192 member UN General Assembly. This is the highest number of votes received by any country for getting a non-permanent seat into the UNSC in the past five years. Germany, South Africa, Colombia and Portugal also get the non-permanent seat along with Inida. Though its a non-permanent seat and term will be of two years yet it’s a Proud moment for India.

Related posts

Leave a Comment